Important Dates
  Conference Scope 
   Invited Speakers
   Abstract Submission
    Visa Support
    Social Program
  社団法人 日本物理学会 Adobe Systems
  APPC12  The 12th Asia Pacific Physics Conference
 ASEPS3  The third Asia-Europe Physics Summit
C.N.Yang Award

         On the AAPPS Chen Ning Yang Award


The idea to create the AAPPS (Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies)Prize or Award was first discussed at the Third Council meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in August 1992.It was recognized important to encourage young physicists in the Asia/Pacific region and to activate the region around. The ideas of the AAPPS Award was approved in second term of the AAPPS Council (1994 - 1997) and it was arranged so that the AAPPS Award is given on the occasion of the Asia Pacific Physics Conference (APPC) to outstanding young physicists.

Professor Chen Ning Yang was the chairperson of the ad hoc group for formation of the AAPPS from 1988 to August 1990 and served as the first president of the AAPPS from 11 August 1990 to 2 July 1994. He worked as a council member of the AAPPS in the second term and retired from the council in the end of 1997. The council acknowledged his long-standing contribution for the AAPPS and the AAPPS Award of Physics was renamed as the AAPPS Chen Ning Yang Award.

At APPC12 in Makuhari, Japan, Professor Chen Ning Yang himself will join the ceremony and awardees will receive 1,000 US Dollar as a supplementary of the Award.
Invited talks of awardees will be arranged.

Awardees of C.N.Yang Award at APPC12
  Jun Cao
Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Leading role in the Daya Bay Reactor neutrino experiment to
measure the mixing angle theta-13

Jun Cao is a researcher of Institute of High Energy Physics, Beijing. He has been working on Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment since 2003 and now is the co-spokesperson. He was one of the initiators of the experiment and contributed the major efforts in the experiment design. He led the neutrino detector design and fabrication, as well as the liquid scintillator production. Dr. Cao led the data analysis of Daya Bay, which measured the smallest neutrino mixing angle theta13 in early 2012 and opened a gateway to the future study of CP violation in neutrino oscillation.
  Bae Ho Park
Konkuk University, Korea

Characterization and manipulation of atomic distribution in emerging nano-materials applicable to next-generation electronic devices

Bae Ho Park has tried to characterize chemical or structural defect structures in oxide nano-materials or graphene, and propose suitable modification of nano-materials or device structures for enhancement of electrical properties. He has published more than 150 journal articles and got more than 5,070 citations. He was nominated as the Scientist of the Month from Korea MEST in 2012 and received the Best Academic Achievement Award from Korean Physical Society in 2009 and Scopus Citation Award from Elsevier in 2006. He presently serves as an editorial board member of Scientific Reports and Journal of the Korean Physical Society.  

Toshiro Kaneko
Tohoku University, Japan
Plasma Structure Control and New-Concept Plasma Process for Novel Nano-Bio Materials
Toshiro Kaneko has developed several novel methods to control plasma potential structure and flow velocity shear in magnetic confinement plasmas. Using these controlled potential and velocity shear, he clarified the excitation and suppression mechanisms of the shear-modified instabilities for the first time. Furthermore, he has developed a new-concept plasma process to create innovative biomolecule-nanoparticle-nanocarbon conjugates using plasma-liquid interface, which is promising reaction field from the viewpoints of physical, chemical, and biological reactions. He has successfully formed, e.g., DNA encapsulated carbon nanotubes, structure-controlled nanoparticles covered with DNA, and interval-controlled nanoparticles on carbon nanotubes. These novel materials are applied to next-generation drug delivery systems, solar cells, optical devices, novel electronic devices, and so on.       http://www.plasma.ecei.tohoku.ac.jp/
Masahide Yamaguchi
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Theoretical cosmology and particle physics

Masahide Yamaguchi works on cosmology, especially, inflation, cosmological perturbations, origin of matter such as dark matter and dark energy,and gravitational theory. These researches can give testable predictions on particle physics theories beyond the standard model. By combining these predictions with new observations, he tries to explore the origin of our Universe and the ultimate particle physics theory. 
         C. N. Yang Award Committee at APPC12 
Yoshio Kuramoto  Tohoku University, Japan
Yee Bob Hsiung Physical Society in Taipei, Taipei
Yasuhiro Iye University of Tokyo, Japan
S. Kailas BARC, Indian Physics Association, India
Makoto Konagai Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Leong Chuan Kwek National University of Singapore, Singapore
Robert Robinson ANSTO and Australian Institute of Physics, Australia
Sung-Chul Shin Korean Physical Society, Korea
Gui Lu Long Tsinghua University & Chinese Physical Sociey, China
  12th Asia Pasific Physics Conference